• Swiss Psychotropic Gold

Knowbotiq, Nina Bandi (ed.)

Swiss Psychotropic Gold

May 2020, 256 pages, 90 colour illustrations, hardcover, 14,5 x 21 cm, English
ISBN 978-3-85616-921-3

Swiss Psychotropic Gold

Awarded by the European Design Awards

Gold: its international links and aesthetics

The integrated SD-card contains artistic contributions in the form of video and audio files

Exhibition by the artist-duo knowbotiq at the HeK (Haus der elektronischen Künste Basel): June to mid-May 2020

The much lauded artist-duo knowbotiq are among the pioneers of the Swiss media scene. In their collaborative project Swiss Psychotropic Gold they pursue the links in the global metabolism of gold and Switzerland’s role in it. They track down the fleeting and often invisible paths of the molecules, the emotions and the violence. In this way we discover how that conflict-laden precious metal is “purified” in the context of technocracy, philanthropy and neutrality and refined for later use.

With essays/texts by Nina Bandi, Rohit Jain, Jakob Tanner, Yolanda Ariadne Collins, Ayesha Hameed, Jordy Rosenberg, Gerald Raunig, Johannes Paul Raether, Angela Melitopoulos, Elke Bippus, Yvonne Volkart and others.

About the artists:
The artist-duo knowbotiq (Yvonne Wilhelm, Christian Huebler) explore forms of knowledge and political representation in translocal contexts. Knowbotig hold a professorship at the Hochschule der Künste in Zurich and have been awarded various international art prizes, including the 2019 Pax Award.

• Swiss Psychotropic Gold

Knowbotiq, Nina Bandi (Hg.)

Swiss Psychotropic Gold

Mai 2020, 256 Seiten, 90 farbige Abbildungen, gebunden, 14,5 x 21 cm, Englisch
ISBN 978-3-85616-921-3

Swiss Psychotropic Gold

Ausgezeichnet vom European Design Awards

Die internationalen Verflechtungen und Ästhetiken von Gold 

Die integrierte SD-Karte enthält künstlerische Beiträge in Form von Video- und Audiodateien 

Ausstellung des Künstlerduos knowbotiq im HeK (Haus der elektronischen Künste Basel): 27. Mai bis 2. August 2020

Das vielfach ausgezeichnete Künstlerduo knowbotiq gehört zu den Pionieren der Schweizer Medienkunstszene. In ihrem kollaborativen Projekt Swiss Psychotropic Gold folgen sie den Verstrickungen des globalen Stoffwechsels von Gold und der Rolle der Schweiz. Sie spüren die flüchtigen und oft unsichtbaren Wege der Moleküle, der Affekte und der Gewalt auf. Es wird so erfahrbar, wie das konfliktbeladene Edelmetall im Kontext  von Technokratie, Philanthropie und Neutralität «gereinigt» und für die weitere Verwendung verfeinert wird.

Mit Beiträgen von Nina Bandi, Rohit Jain, Jakob Tanner, Yolanda Ariadne Collins, Ayesha Hameed, Jordy Rosenberg, Gerald Raunig, Johannes Paul Raether, Angela Melitopoulos, Elke Bippus, Yvonne Volkart u.a.

Über die Künstler:
Das Künstlerduo knowbotiq (Yvonne Wilhelm, Christian Huebler) untersucht Formen des Wissens und der politischen Repräsentation in translokalen Kontexten. Knowbotiq hat eine Professur an der Zürcher Hochschule der Künste und wurde mit verschiedenen internationalen Kunstpreisen ausgezeichnet, u.a. mit dem Pax Award 2019.