• Real Feelings

HeK (Haus der elektronischen Künste Basel), MU Hybrid Art House Eindhoven
Sabine Himmelsbach, Angelique Spaninks, Ariane Koek (ed.)

Real Feelings
Emotion and Technology

August 2020, 192 pages, 153 mainly colour illustrations, softcover with flaps, 16,5 x 24 cm, English
ISBN 978-3-85616-931-2

Real Feelings

Artistic Debate on Technology’s Influence on Emotions

With contributions by António Damásio, neuroscientist and bestselling author on robots and emotions, writer Ariane Koek with a look at surveillance capitalism, and a personal diary by British artist Cécile B. Evans

Exhibition at the HeK (Haus der elektronischen Künste Basel): planned from September to November 2020

All realms of our daily life are determined by digital technology: humanoid robots are deployed in health care, sex robots compensate for deficits in human relations, intelligent appliances listen to our conversations and look after our needs – we communicate more with technology than with other people.

The publication Real Feelings explores the swiftly changing relationship between technology and emotions and presents works by 20 international artists that explore how technology represents, manipulates and is capable of changing our feelings.

With works by Antoine Catala, Heather Dewey-Hagborg, Justine Emard, Cécile B. Evans, Kyle McDonald & Lauren McCarthy, Simone C. Niquille, Lucy McRae, Shinseungback Kimyonghun, Maija Tammi, Troika, Liam Young and many more

• Real Feelings

HeK (Haus der elektronischen Künste Basel), MU Hybrid Art House Eindhoven
Sabine Himmelsbach, Angelique Spaninks, Ariane Koek (Hg.)

Real Feelings
Emotion and Technology

August 2020, 192 Seiten, 153 meist farbige Abbildungen, broschiert, mit transparentem Schutzumschlag, 16,5 x 24 cm, Englisch
ISBN 978-3-85616-931-2

Real Feelings

Künstlerische Auseinandersetzung mit der Beeinflussung der Emotionen durch die Technologie

Mit Beiträgen von António Damásio, Neurowissenschaftler und Bestsellerautor über Roboter und Gefühle, der Schriftstellerin Ariane Koek mit einem Blick auf den Überwachungskapitalismus und einem persönlichen Tagebuch der britischen Künstlerin Cécile B. Evans

Ausstellung im HeK (Haus der elektronischen Künste Basel): geplant September bis November 2020

Unser Alltag ist in allen Lebensbereichen durch digitale Technologie bestimmt: Menschenähnliche Roboter werden in der Gesundheitsfürsorge eingesetzt, Sexroboter kompensieren die Defizite menschlicher Beziehungen, intelligente Geräte hören unseren Gesprächen zu und kümmern sich um unsere Bedürfnisse – wir kommunizieren mehr mit unserer Technologie als mit anderen Menschen.

Die Publikation Real Feelings untersucht die sich schnell verändernde Beziehung zwischen Technologie und Emotionen und stellt Werke von 20 internationalen Künstlerinnen und Künstlern vor. Sie erforschen, wie Technologie heute unsere Gefühle repräsentiert, manipuliert und zu verändern vermag.

Mit Arbeiten von Antoine Catala, Heather Dewey-Hagborg, Justine Emard, Cécile B. Evans, Kyle McDonald & Lauren McCarthy, Simone C. Niquille, Lucy McRae, Shinseungback Kimyonghun, Maija Tammi, Troika, Liam Young u.a.