• Hope

Sarah Hildebrand, Gerhild Perl, Julia Rehsmann, Veronika Siegl

Hope

March 2018, 184 pages, 75 colour illustrations, hardcover, 20,5 x 27 cm, German/English
ISBN 978-3-85616-860-5

Hope

Flight to Europe, surrogate motherhood in Russia, organ donation in Germany: wishes and hopes from an artistic, scientific and literary viewpoint.

With photographs by Sarah Hildebrand and essays by social anthropologists Gerhild Perl, Julia Rehsmann and Veronika Siegl

Hope is the fruit of a collaboration between the artist Sarah Hildebrand and three social anthropologists from the University of Berne. Shunning sensationalist reportage, Hope, with its compelling photographs and texts, follows the trail of people who transgress borders so as to achieve a desired goal: to have a child, be to able to prolong their life or to have an autonomous existence.

The authors report sensitively on the hope for a child through the reproductive work of a foreign woman, on waiting to get on a list for a donated organ. They also follow up on the hopes of refugees lost on the high seas or dashed on Europe’s shores. A sensitive, honest and humane book.

About the artist:
Sarah Hildebrand (*1978) trained at the Haute Ecole d’Art et de Design in Geneva and the Hochschule für bildende Künste in Hamburg. Her projects aim to explore the visible or hidden circumstances defining a person or a place. Her works are shown and publicised internationally.

• Hope

Sarah Hildebrand, Gerhild Perl, Julia Rehsmann, Veronika Siegl

Hope

März 2018, 184 Seiten, 75 farbige Abbildungen, gebunden, 20,5 x 27 cm, Deutsch/Englisch
ISBN 978-3-85616-860-5

Hope

Flucht nach Europa, Leihmutterschaft in Russland, Organspende in Deutschland: Wünsche und Hoffnungen künstlerisch, wissenschaftlich und literarisch beleuchtet

Mit Fotografien von Sarah Hildebrand und Beiträgen der Sozialanthropologinnen Gerhild Perl, Julia Rehsmann und Veronika Siegl

Hope ist aus der Zusammenarbeit der Künstlerin Sarah Hildebrand mit drei Sozialanthropologinnen der Universität Bern entstanden. Abseits sensationsorientierter Berichterstattung folgt Hope mit eindrücklichen Fotografien und Texten den Spuren von Menschen, die Grenzen überschreiten, um ein ersehntes Ziel zu erreichen: ein Kind zu haben, ein längeres Leben führen zu dürfen oder eine selbstbestimmte Existenz zu leben.

Einfühlsam berichten die Autorinnen von der Hoffnung auf ein Kind durch die reproduktive Arbeit einer fremden Frau, vom Warten darauf, auf der Warteliste einer Organspende nach oben zu rücken, und sie folgen den Hoffnungen Flüchtender, die auf hoher See verschwunden sind oder an Europas Küsten zerschellen. Ein sensibles, aufrichtiges, menschliches Buch.

Über die Künstlerin:
Sarah Hildebrand (* 1978) wurde an der Haute Ecole d’Art et de Design in Genf und an der Hochschule für bildende Künste in Hamburg ausgebildet. In ihren Projekten versucht sie, die sichtbaren oder verborgenen Umstände zu ergründen, die eine Person oder einen Ort definieren. Ihre Arbeit wird international gezeigt und publiziert.