• Florian Graf - Out & About

Daniela Settelen-Trees, Florian Graf (ed.)

Florian Graf - Out & About

August 2018, 144 pages, 60 colour illustrations, hardcover, 21 x 27 cm
ISBN 978-3-85616-877-3

Florian Graf - Out & About

Florian Graf – Out & About

The Mapprach Estate near Basel is regarded as an ideal, holistic mesh of culture, nature and landscape. In his exhibition “Out & About” the internationally renowned artist Florian Graf enables the concept of the hermitage come to life again on the estate by translating it into a contemporary context and precisely integrating his works of art into this idyllically fashioned landscape. The publication Florian Graf- Out & About, richly illustrated with photographs of Graf’s sculptures and interventions, guides us through the park landscape and promotes a fruitful dialogue between art, nature and agriculture.

Florian Graf has placed evocative signs of his presence in the park of the estate. His artistic interventions take visitors by the hand and accompany them through the landscape, drawing their attention to apparently inconspicuous things, such as a passing butterfly which the artist recalls by means of a plaque. The project will not be over for the artist when the exhibition opens and the sculptures and works are complete. Graf will continue to live in the role of the hermit in a small wooden pavilion slightly above the Baroque estate where he can engage in dialogue with visitors and with nature.

Florian Graf’s poetic engagement with art and nature stimulates us to think about our treatment of natural resources and nature and to consider man’s existence on Earth. Texts by Markus Krajewski, professor at Basel University, and Ines Goldbach, director of the Kunsthaus Baselland, and a conversation between the artist and the curator Daniele Settelen-Trees present the theme of the dialogue between nature and culture and outline the artist’s unusual exhibition project and his role as ‘ornamental hermit’.

About the artist:

Florian Graf (*1980) operates in his art on the borderline between art and architecture, linking sculpture, installation, drawing, photography and short films. He is interested in the psychological and emotional impact that spaces have on their users. His artist works make reference to specific architectural or social situations and create places of poetic density.

• Florian Graf - Out & About

Daniela Settelen-Trees, Florian Graf (Hg.)

Florian Graf - Out & About

August 2018, 144 Seiten, 60 farbige Abbildungen, gebunden, 21 x 27 cm, Deutsch/Englisch
ISBN 978-3-85616-877-3

Florian Graf - Out & About

Florian Graf – Out & About

Das Hofgut Mapprach bei Basel gilt als ideales, ganzheitliches Gefüge von Kultur, Natur und Landschaft. Der international bekannte Künstler Florian Graf lässt in seiner Ausstellung Out & About auf dem Hofgut die Idee der Ermitage aufleben, übersetzt sie in einen zeitgenössischen Kontext und fügt seine Kunstwerke präzise in die gestaltete, idyllische Landschaft ein. Die reich bebilderte Publikation Florian Graf - Out & About  führt mit Fotografien von Grafs Skulpturen und Interventionen durch die Parklandschaft und lässt einen fruchtbaren Dialog zwischen Kunst, Natur und Landwirtschaft entstehen.

Florian Graf setzt im Park des Hofguts mehrdeutige Zeichen seiner Präsenz. Seine künstlerischen Interventionen nehmen die Besucher an die Hand, begleiten sie durch die Landschaft und lenken ihren Blick auch auf das scheinbar Unwesentliche wie einen vorbeiziehenden Schmetterling, an den der Künstler mit einer Gedenktafel erinnert. Für den Künstler endet das Projekt nicht, wenn die Ausstellung eröffnet und die Skulpturen und Werke vollendet sind. Graf wohnt weiterhin in der Rolle des Eremiten in der Schirmhütte, einem kleinen Holzpavillon oberhalb des barocken Gutes und tritt dort in Dialog mit Besuchern und der Natur.

Florian Grafs poetische Auseinandersetzung mit Kunst und Natur regt zum Nachdenken über unseren Umgang mit natürlichen Ressourcen und der Natur an und stellt Fragen zum menschlichen Dasein. Textbeiträge von Markus Krajewski, Professor an der Universität Basel, und Ines Goldbach, Direktorin des Kunsthauses Baselland, sowie ein Gespräch zwischen dem Künstler und der Kuratorin Daniela Settelen-Trees führen in das Thema des Dialogs von Natur und Kultur ein. Sie beschreiben das aussergewöhnliche Ausstellungsprojekt des Künstlers und seine Rolle als ornamental hermit.

Über den Künstler:

In seinem Schaffen bewegt sich Florian Graf (* 1980) an der Schwelle von Kunst und Architektur und verknüpft dabei Skulptur, Installation, Zeichnung, Fotografie und Kurzfilme. Sein Interesse gilt der psychologischen und emotionalen Wirkung von Räumen auf ihre Benutzer. In seinen künstlerischen Arbeiten nimmt er Bezug auf spezifische architektonische oder soziale Situationen und schafft Orte poetischer Verdichtung.