• Bengal Stream

S AM Schweizerisches Architekturmuseum
Niklaus Graber, Andreas Ruby, Viviane Ehrensberger (ed.)

Bengal Stream
The Vibrant Architecture Scene of Bangladesh

December 2017, 448 pages, ca. 400 colour illustrations, hardcover, 24,5 x 33 cm, Englisch
ISBN 978-3-85616-843-8

Bengal Stream

The first publication on contemporary architecture in Bangladesh

Photographs by Iwan Baan

Exhibition at the S AM Schweizerisches Architekturmuseum: December 2017 to June 2018

Exhibition tour to Germany, France, England and Italy in preparation

Dhaka, the capital of Bangladesh, has one of the most important buildings of the 20th cen-tury: its parliamentary building by Louis I. Kahn constructed between 1961 and 1982. Little is known, however, about the local architecture scene that has emerged since then. Yet contemporary architecture in Bangladesh exhibits a strong formal idiom that has its roots in tradition and is combined with an innovative handling of local resources such as bamboo and brick.

Alongside texts by Andreas Ruby, Niklaus Graber, Kazi Khaleed, Saif Ul Haque and Syed Manzoorul Islam, the special photographs taken by Iwan Baan for this publication capture the imagination. Bengal Stream takes the reader on a lively architectural journey to a fascinating, and for many, unknown country located between India and Myanmar.

uncharacteristically for a book on architecture, ‘bengal stream’ shows scenes of everyday life — from the densely populated and rapidly growing cities like dhaka, to the country’s more rural areas. by providing a sense of context, the publication not only sheds new light on lesser known architectural projects, but also on the people and communities who occupy them on a day-to-day basis. (Philipp Stevens, designboom, 11.1.2018)

• Bengal Stream

S AM Schweizerisches Architekturmuseum
Niklaus Graber, Andreas Ruby, Viviane Ehrensberger (Hg.)

Bengal Stream
The Vibrant Architecture Scene of Bangladesh

Dezember 2017, 448 Seiten, ca. 400 meist farbige Abbildungen, gebunden, 24,5 x 33 cm, Englisch
ISBN 978-3-85616-843-8

Bengal Stream

Die erste Publikation über zeitgenössische Architektur in Bangladesch

Mit Fotografien von Iwan Baan

Ausstellung im S AM Schweizerisches Architekturmuseum: Dezember 2017 bis Juni 2018

Weitere Stationen der Ausstellung in Deutschland, Frankreich, England und Italien in Vorbereitung

Bangladeschs Hauptstadt Dhaka verfügt mit seinem durch Louis I. Kahn von 1961 bis 1982 erbauten Parlament über einen der wichtigsten Bauten des 20. Jahrhunderts. Doch über die lokale Architekturszene, die sich seither entwickelt hat, ist wenig bekannt. Dabei überzeugt die zeitgenössische Architektur Bangladeschs durch die in der Tradition verhaftete starke Formensprache, kombiniert mit dem innovativen Umgang mit den lokalen Ressourcen wie Bambus und Backstein.

Neben den Texten von Andreas Ruby, Niklaus Graber, Kazi Khaleed, Saif Ul Haque und Syed Manzoorul Islam begeistern die von Iwan Baan eigens für diese Publikation erstellten Fotografien. Bengal Stream nimmt den Leser mit auf eine vibrierende Architekturreise in ein faszinierendes, für viele unbekanntes Land zwischen Indien und Myanmar.

uncharacteristically for a book on architecture, ‘bengal stream’ shows scenes of everyday life — from the densely populated and rapidly growing cities like dhaka, to the country’s more rural areas. by providing a sense of context, the publication not only sheds new light on lesser known architectural projects, but also on the people and communities who occupy them on a day-to-day basis. (Philipp Stevens, designboom, 11.1.2018)

Das Land zeigt, wie eine westliche Moderne mit jahrhundertealten Bautraditionen aus Asien so verschmelzen kann, dass dabei etwas Neues, geradezu Futuristisches entsteht. [...] Statt auf irgendeine smarte Technologie konzentriert man sich hier auf die Architektur selbst. Auf den Raum und seine Proportionen, auf das Licht, wie es fällt. (Laura Weissmüller, Süddeutsche Zeitung, 12.1.2018)

Die vorliegende, grossformatige und wunderbar dickleibige Katalogpublikation schaut nun auf das aktuelle Bauen, also auf das, was in Bangladesch in den letzten 25 Jahren gebaut wurde. Moscheen, Handwerksbetriebe, Kulturhäsuer, Verwaltung, Wohnhäuser, Wohnanlagen, Schulen... Unbedingt lesens- uns schauenswert. (Benedikt Kraft, Deutsche Bauzeitschrift, Februar 2018)