• Architektur für die Katz / Arcatecture

Brigitte Schuster

Architektur für die Katz / Arcatecture
Schweizer Katzenleitern / Swiss Cat Ladders

October 2019, 320 pages, 126 colour illustrations, softcover with flaps, 14 x 20,5 cm, German/English
ISBN 978-3-85616-913-8

Architektur für die Katz / Arcatecture

A Swiss Speciality: home-made cat ladders

Creative architecture and striking constructions: from zig-zag steps to the most attractive spiral staircases

Cat ladders from a sociological, architectural and aesthetic point of view

They come in all shapes and sizes, above all in Switzerland: home-made cat ladders. Some consist of just a wooden board, others are complex scaffold-like constructions rising up in a zig-zag way over four storeys. One happy cat even has a tiny winding staircase.

Taking the City of Berne as an example, Brigitte Schuster’s photographs show a variety of cat ladders in the context of their surrounding architecture. On closer inspection of these cat ladders it is possible to recognise sociological, architectural and aesthetic peculiarities which are further developed in an accompanying text.

This wonderful photographically-illustrated book on a cat-related theme that is rarely treated invites readers to look and wonder. At the same time, it provides information and worthwhile insight, and serves as a guideline and source of inspiration.

About the author:
Brigitte Schuster (*1976) is a graphic designer focussing on typography and script. She is also an author, lecturer and photographer. She lives and works currently in Berne.

• Architektur für die Katz / Arcatecture

Brigitte Schuster

Architektur für die Katz / Arcatecture
Schweizer Katzenleitern / Swiss Cat Ladders

Oktober 2019, 320 Seiten, 126 farbige Abbildungen, Klappenbroschur, 14 x 20,5 cm, Deutsch/Englisch
ISBN 978-3-85616-913-8

Architektur für die Katz / Arcatecture

Eine Schweizer Besonderheit: selbstgebaute Katzenleitern

Kreative Architektur und ausgefallene Konstruktionen: von Zickzack-Stiegen bis zu den schönsten Wendeltreppen

Katzenleitern soziologisch, architektonisch und ästhetisch betrachtet

Es gibt sie in allen Formen und Grössen und dies vor allem in der Schweiz: die selbstgebauten Katzenleitern. Einige bestehen nur aus einem Holzbrett, andere sind komplexe, gerüstartige Konstruktionen, die im Zickzack über vier Stockwerke ragen. Mindestens eine glückliche Katze hat sogar eine winzige Wendeltreppe.

Am Beispiel der Stadt Bern zeigen die Fotografien von Brigitte Schuster eine Vielzahl von Katzenleitern im Kontext der sie umgebenden Architektur. Bei näherer Betrachtung der Katzenleitern werden soziologische, architektonische und ästhetische Besonderheiten erkennbar, die in einem begleitenden Text herausgearbeitet werden.

Das grossartige fotografisch illustrierte Buch über ein Katzenthema, das selten behandelt wird, lädt zum Schauen und Sich-Wundern ein. Zugleich vermittelt es Informationen und Wissenswertes und dient als Leitfaden und Inspiration.

Über die Autorin:
Brigitte Schuster (*1976) ist Grafikdesignerin mit den Schwerpunkten Typografie und Schrift sowie Autorin, Dozentin und Fotografin. Sie lebt und arbeitet derzeit in Bern.